top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Dinner Diary

Cote de Boeuf, Pesto Hollandaise and Skinny Chips


I found this recipe whilst browsing the delicious website in search of something fancy to treat my boyfriend with one weekend. I'd had a few days off and was spending most of it with my Mums dog Billy who we were looking after for the week. I'm sure he somehow managed to use some of his dog brainwaves to trick me into wanting to make this as I rarely ever buy a piece of meat like this to cook with. But there I was, stood in the butchers spending £30 on a piece of meat for dinner. Looking back, I have no regrets, this dinner was just glorious. Fluffy yet crunchy home made chips, a creamy sauce and a piece of meat that was so perfectly pink on the inside that I could cry. And a dog starting up at me with the loving eyes only a dog like billy can give going ‘feed me, feed me feed me. Save me some save me some save me some. Thats for me right? Oh oh STEAAAAK.’

So for once I don't think I altered this recipe at all. And posting it here for you, the only thing I would change about it? I’d slice my potato chips just that little bit fatter so they’ve got even more fluff inside and even more crunch outside. No get cooking peeps. And be sure to get a good bit of beef cos boy oh boy was it worth it!

Here’s the link to the website for the recipe, as I take no credit for this one. This ones all about Delicious, and they really do know the meaning of the word.




Rib steak for two with pesto hollandaise and skinny oven chips

Serves 2 (and a dog)


INGREDIENTS

2 large maris piper potatoes, sliced into thin fries

2 tbsp duck fat (buy it in a jar or use leftovers from roasting a duck)

2 tbsp fine polenta

850g British free-range côte de boeuf (6cm thick) at room temperature

Rapeseed oil for frying 1 garlic clove, chopped Small bunch fresh flat leaf parsley, roughly chopped Small bunch fresh basil, roughly chopped

1 tsp sea salt flakes

Zest and juice 1 lemon

40g parmesan, grated

50ml olive oil

2 medium free-range egg yolks

1 tsp white wine vinegar

110g unsalted butter, cubed


METHOD

Heat the oven to 220°C/200°C fan/gas 6.

Put the fries in cold water and soak for 20 minutes. Drain and pat dry with kitchen paper.

Put the duck fat in a large roasting tin and heat in the oven for 5 minutes until very hot but not smoking. Add the chips to the hot fat, toss to coat, then sprinkle over the polenta, season with salt and toss again. Roast for 50 minutes, turning now and then, or until golden and crisp.

Meanwhile, make the pesto hollandaise. In the small bowl of a food processor (or in a pestle and mortar), whizz/pound the garlic, herbs, salt, lemon zest and juice and parmesan, then drizzle in the olive oil and whizz/pound again.

Put the egg yolks and vinegar in a small glass/ceramic bowl and set over a pan of simmering water over a low heat (don’t let the base of the bowl touch the water). Using a wooden spoon, beat the egg yolks for a minute, then start adding the butter a cube at a time, beating all the time with the wooden spoon until the mixture has emulsified into a smooth sauce. Turn off the heat but leave the bowl over the pan. Just before serving, stir in the pesto.

Once the chips have had 20 minutes in the oven, heat an ovenproof griddle pan (or frying pan), rub the steak on each side with a little rapeseed oil and season with salt. When the pan is smoking hot, cook for 2-3 minutes on each side until deep brown all over. Put the pan in the oven below the chips and roast for 15-20 minutes until the thermometer reads 55°C (for medium-rare). Take out of the oven and rest on a warm plate, turning once, for 5-10 minutes.

Serve on a platter with the chips and a bowl of the pesto hollandaise. Slice the steak and enjoy.

50 views0 comments
bottom of page